The Iraqi parliament completes voting on electoral districts



Election law



2020-10-28 04:15

A- A A +

Shafaq News / The Iraqi parliament will hold a session later this evening, Wednesday, to complete voting on the electoral districts for the election law .

The Iraqi Council of Representatives voted after midnight Monday – Tuesday on the paragraph on electoral districts in Nineveh Governorate in the election law, while it postponed the issue of Kirkuk governorate, which is disputed between Erbil and Baghdad.

Parliament had voted a few days ago on the electoral districts in 16 governorates, with the exception of Kirkuk and Nineveh provinces, due to the failure to reach consensus on the division .

According to the new election law, the distribution of electoral districts will be as follows: 17 in Baghdad, 8 in Nineveh, 6 in Basra, 5 in Dhi Qar and Sulaymaniyah, 4 in Babylon, Anbar, Erbil and Diyala, and 3 each in Kirkuk, Najaf, Salah al-Din, Dohuk, Diwaniyah, Karbala and Wasit And Maysan, and two seats in Muthanna .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s