Parliament passes the electoral districts clause, with the exception of two governorates





2020-10-24 11:38

A- A A +

Shafaq News / Members of Parliament approved, on Saturday, the paragraph on electoral districts in the new election law, with the exception of electoral districts in Nineveh and Kirkuk governorates, due to disputes over them.

The media department of the council said in a statement received by Shafaq News, “The parliament votes on the electoral districts of 16 governorates, and the vote on Kirkuk and Nineveh governorate is postponed until Monday.”

And then the House of Representatives adjourned its session to last Monday.

A parliamentary source told Shafaq News that differences still exist regarding the division of electoral districts in the governorates of Kirkuk and Nineveh, so the vote was postponed until reaching understandings. 

Earlier Saturday, Parliament Speaker Muhammad al-Halbousi met with Kurds and others from Kirkuk and Nineveh with the aim of containing the differences over the electoral districts in the two governorates, but the meeting did not resolve them.

Under the new law, the number of constituencies in each governorate is distributed equal to the number of seats allocated to the women’s quota in the governorate.

Based on the women’s seats in each governorate, the distribution of electoral districts will be as follows: 17 in Baghdad, 8 in Nineveh, 6 in Basra, 5 in Dhi Qar and Sulaymaniyah, 4 in Babel, Anbar, Erbil and Diyala, and 3 in each of Kirkuk, Najaf and Salah al-Din. Dohuk, Diwaniyah, Karbala, Wasit, Maysan, and two seats in Muthanna.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s